« Back

Palmer CareerNetwork, honorary alumna recognition, doctor of chiropractic humanities award and induction of nine new Fellows highlight Alumni Luncheon

8/16/2011 (Archived)

The Alumni Luncheon at this year’s Homecoming was jam-packed with information, special awards and the induction of nine new Fellows in the Palmer Academy of Chiropractic. Executive Director of Alumni Mickey Burt, D.C., welcomed everyone and introduced the keynote speaker for the event, Vice Chancellor for Student Success Kevin Cunningham, D.C., Ph.D., who spoke about the newly launched Palmer CareerNetwork online resource for alumni and students.

Dr. Cunningham described the Palmer CareerNetwork as a new way for alumni to stay connected with the College in a meaningful way. It features a sophisticated system to match job seekers with alumni who have associateships available or practices for sale, and the Palmer Professional Network of alumni who want to mentor students on practice trends, geographic areas and other career-related topics via e-mail. It also provides a video resume and interview coaching program, a demographic analysis program and access to registration for business modules and other educational programs from the Palmer Center for Business Development. All of this is available online and is free of charge to Palmer students and alumni.

Following Dr. Cunningham’s presentation, Dr. Burt presented “a very special honor to an extraordinary woman,” when he recognized Vice Chancellor for Research and Health Policy Christine Goertz, D.C., Ph.D., as an honorary alumna of Palmer College of Chiropractic. “Everything about Dr. Goertz is impressive,” Dr. Burt said. “We’d like to add to her impressive list of accomplishments today and recognize her outstanding contributions to Palmer by making Dr. Christine Goertz an honorary alumna of Palmer College.”

Next on the luncheon agenda was the granting of an honorary Doctor of Chiropractic Humanities degree to Kent Forney, J.D. “Mr. Forney has served nearly 30 years on the Palmer Board of Trustees and is currently its vice chairman,” said Chancellor Dennis Marchiori, D.C., Ph.D. “He is a Palmer Presidents Club member and a longstanding Palmer supporter, strong chiropractic advocate and friend.”

The last order of business at the luncheon was the induction of nine new Fellows in the Palmer Academy of Chiropractic. The following were inducted: H. Tom Barnes, D.C., Audubon, Iowa; Kurt Burbach, D.C., Dyersville, Iowa; M. Dean Chance, D.C. (posthumous award); Hugh Chet Chance, D.C. (posthumous award); Todd Curzie, D.C., L.C.P. (Hon.), Anchorage, Alaska; Jeff Gehlsen, D.C., Freeport, Ill.; Christine Goertz, D.C., Ph.D., Davenport, Iowa; Robert Percuoco, D.C., Long Grove, Iowa; and Frank Sovinsky, D.C., Tahoe City, Calif.

Following the induction, Palmer Board of Trustees Chairperson Trevor Ireland, D.C., congratulated the award recipients and new Fellows. “It is my pleasure to congratulate Mr. Kent Forney on his honorary Doctor of Chiropractic Humanities degree and Dr. Christine Goertz for becoming an honorary Palmer alumna. Congratulations and thank you for all you have done and will continue to do for Palmer. It is also a distinct honor for me to welcome nine new members of the Fellows in the Palmer Academy of Chiropractic. Throughout their history, the Fellows have been a group of staunch supporters of Palmer College as well as leaders in their communities and of the chiropractic profession. Congratulations!”