« Back

Palmer Pride Win Championship, Complete “Three-peat” Season

4/20/2011 (Archived)

ca - pride 2011 div champsThe West Campus “Palmer Pride” ice hockey team won the 2011 San Jose Sharks Adult League “Senior B” division championship game, defeating “The Bums”, 4-2, at Sharks Ice-San Jose on Saturday, April 16, in an afternoon tilt that saw the Pride skate to their third consecutive division championship.

The Pride finished the regular season with a 12-8-2 record among the field of 10 teams in the Sharks’ “Senior B” division, which is the second-highest skill group of the 17 divisions in the Sharks Adult League.

They entered the play-offs as the number four seed, and defeated the three teams in front of them en route to the championship. The Pride won their first-round game 7-5 on April 8, and their second-round game, 6-4, on Friday night, which put them in a position to post a “three-peat” season.

In their second-round game, it was a true “team effort,” as six different players accounted for the six goals: Michael Braccio, Micaiah Meuer, Amar Sandhu, Casey Schmitz, Levi Irwin, and Kyle Stenger. The Pride were down 4-3 after one period, but shut down the “Powder Blues” 3-0 during the final two periods.

Neither team scored in the first period of the championship game, but the Pride peppered the Bums’ goalie with all four of their goals in the second period. Levi Irwin netted two goals, with Casey Schultz and Micaiah Meuer accounting for the other Pride scores.

The 2010-2011 edition of the championship-winning Palmer Pride included: Brian Boisvert, Michael Braccio, Jeffrey Cheung, Levi Irwin, Steven Kaiser, Dustin Kalynchuk, Micaiah Meuer, Jeffrey Payne, Clayton Pilling, Brandon Price, Amar Sandhu, Casey Schmitz, Kyle Stenger, and Ben Stevens.

This marks season number 17 of Palmer Pride hockey. In addition to the three-consecutive Sharks Adult League championships, the Pride also skated to championships in the 1996 and 2000 editions of the former “Gold Rush Tournament” (which included San Jose State, Stanford and UC-Berkeley).

The Pride thank all the students and other fans who came out to root on the Pride. Watch for details regarding an upcoming special event. And the Pride are already shooting to “score for four” next season!