« Back

2010 Davenport Campus Employee Holiday Social and Service Awards

12/14/2010 (Archived)

The setting was festive and spirits were high for the 2010 Employee Holiday Social and Service Awards Dec. 9 on the Davenport Campus. About 275 employees gathered in the Cafeteria for the annual event, hosted by Davenport Campus President Dr. Donald Kern. Attendees enjoyed the program as well as elegant hors d’oeuvres and beverages provided by Aramark, and of course, each other’s company. This was Dr. Kern’s last opportunity to preside over the festivities and awards, as he will officially retire from Palmer College on Dec. 31.

To start the program, Dr. Kern awarded three President’s Citations of Distinguished Service for 2010. Those who received this honor were: Mary Pitcher, Licensing Research Coordinator, Institutional Planning and Research; Mike Rekemeyer, Website Manager, Marketing and Public Relations; and Dr. Dan Weinert, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Employees received awards for five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 50 years of service, with Dr. Kern receiving his award for 50 years of service to Palmer from Chancellor Dr. Dennis Marchiori. Dr. Kern also was honored with a special video to commemorate his 50 years of dedicated service, produced by Tim Richardson, Marketing and Public Relations. Radiology Professor Dr. Robin Canterbury received a 35-year service award, and Donna Hamann, Clinical Radiology, and Dr. Ronnie Firth, Diagnosis and Radiology, received 30-year awards.

The winner of the Outstanding Staff of the Year award was Patricia Jestel, who joined Palmer in 1996 and is the Continuing Education Department’s Program Coordinator. Ms. Jestel was selected for her willingness to go above and beyond by working extra hours during evenings and weekends, her upbeat attitude, responsibility and pride in her work, and for being “solutions driven” and an “idea generator.”     Tricia Jestel, Staff of the Year 2010

Ms. Jestel’s accomplishments this year included taking on the responsibilities of another full-time position in her department along with her own duties while maintaining a positive, upbeat attitude. She also worked with Aramark to create a new healthy line of seminar food. In addition, her nominator said that she cultivates the success of the CE travel event, and draws participants into CE programs with her attitude and personality and by making extra efforts to ensure doctors in the field feel valued by Palmer College.

The 2010 Outstanding Faculty of the Year was Dr. Rachelle Herrity, who joined the Davenport Campus Technique Department faculty in 2002 and is currently an assistant professor in Technique. This year’s winner was cited for consistently being one of the highest ranked faculty members in terms of student satisfaction. She also was commended for her efforts to help her colleagues write papers for peer-reviewed journals and serving as the associate editor of the Association for the History of Chiropractic journal, Chiropractic History. Her service to the Palmer community has also been exemplary, including serving on more than 10 committees this year alone. Dr. Herrity is advisor to many students and clubs, serves on the Faculty Senate and on the Dr. Kern’s Health Challenge committee.    Dr. Rachelle Herrity, Faculty of the Year 2010

Her community involvement is impressive as well. Dr. Herrity seeks out families in need at Christmas each year and makes sure they have everything they need for a Merry Christmas—from warm clothing and boots to food and even the pots and pans to cook it in. She also works with the Quad Cities YMCA to increase the number of books and computers available for children, and speaks to children about the function of bones while encouraging them to become chiropractors when they grow up. She served as co-chair of the YMCA’s Partnership with Youth Campaign, which exceeded fundraising goals this year thanks in part to her efforts, and earlier this year received one of only two Community Impact Awards from the YMCA.

Congratulations to all of the employees who received service or special awards this year!