pay* the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF)
if all of the following applies to you:
- You are a student in an
educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a
residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash,
guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and
- Your total charges are not
paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other
payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.
not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the
STRF assessment, if either of the following applies:
- You are not a California
resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or
- Your total charges are
paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other
payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.
*Note: Palmer College of
Chiropractic, West Campus pays the STRF on behalf of all eligible students.
State of California created the Student
Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by
students in educational programs who are California
residents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools
regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
You may be eligible for STRF if you
are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
tuition, paid the STRF assessment*, and suffered an economic loss as a result
of any of the following:
School closed before the course of instruction was completed.
school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a
third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment
or materials for which a charge was collected 180 days before the closure
of the school.
school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally
guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse
proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and
was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30
days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier
than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.
inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a
judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act.
no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a
taxpayer identification number.