< article article >


All three campuses welcome new graduates

West Campus June Graduation

Nine graduates received their Doctor of Chiropractic (D.C.) degrees at the West Campus Spring Quarter 2009 commencement on June 12. Kristopher Michael Birkeland, Tempe, Ariz., and Lindsay Alice Orth, Racine, Wis., were valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively. Mr. Birkeland also received the Clinical Excellence Award. Kevin Michael Meyer, Clarkson, Neb., received the Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award, and Matthew Harris, Santa Barbara, Calif., received the Student Fellow Award.Thomas Hyde, D.C., presented the commencement address and was recognized for his contribution to chiropractic and the West Campus. The College also honored retiring West Campus Professor Dale Nansel, Ph.D., for his 19 years of service.

Davenport Campus June Graduation

Davenport Campus commencement ceremonies on Friday, June 13, marked the graduation of 106 Doctors of Chiropractic and four Associate of Science in Chiropractic Technology degree recipients. During her commencement speech, 1989 Davenport Campus graduate Laura Tanis, D.C., asked all alumni in attendance to stand up. She then told the graduates, “Palmer College and its alumni are here for you. And we are committed to helping you.”

Palmer’s Director of Student Academic Affairs Kevin Paustian, D.C., was given a Presidential Citation for his work as interim director of Technique for the College. Faculty member Roger Hynes, D.C., was the Honors Convocation speaker.

The three valedictorians were Matt Carl Craig, Spring Bay, Ill.; Charynn Renae Olsheski, Home, Pa.; and Daryn Joel Wiese, Spokane, Wash. Trevor Darnell, Kalamazoo, Mich., received the Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award, and Amy Louise Mathis, Davenport, won the Clinical Excellence Award. The class salutatorian was Steven A. Nagel, Linton, N.D., and Kyle Gillett from Ohio was given the John Connolly Memorial Award for scholarship and involvement in Palmer and community organizations.

Florida Campus June Graduation

The Florida Campus graduated its thirteenth class on Friday, June 19, 2009, where 34 students received their Doctor of Chiropractic degrees during the graduation convocation, which featured a commencement address by Professor James La Rose, M.B.B.S., M.Med.

Class honors were awarded to the following: Valedictorian, David Anthony Young, Florida; Salutatorian, Jessica Lauren Wing, Maryland; Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award, Barry Franklin Qualls Jr., Alabama; Clinical Excellence Award, Wayne Jonathan Broth, New Jersey; President’s Scholars: Tyler Darl Albrecht, Michigan; Jason Michael Bullock, Virginia; and Adam Daniel Dixon, Tennessee.

West Campus September Graduation

Fourteen West Campus graduates received their Doctor of Chiropractic degrees on Sept. 18. David De Mey, Sacramento, Calif., and Jennifer Murphy, Virginia Beach, Calif., graduated as valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively. Mr. De Mey also received the Clinical Excellence award, the Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award and the Student Fellow Award.

Other award honorees included Maher Audeh, Edmonton, Alta., Canada, for his service as an executive officer of Associated Student Government; Beau Pierce, Orcutt, Calif., for his service as a Campus Guide; and Anne Hosner, for her service as a Sports Council executive officer/events coordinator.

Terry Schroeder, D.C., West ’86, presented the commencement address. As a member of four U.S. Olympic water polo teams, Dr. Schroeder earned two silver medals, and another as coach of the 2008 U.S. men’s team at the 2008 Beijing Summer Olympic Games.

< article article >