« Back

Dr. Michael Chance appointed to Palmer Board of Trustees

1/9/2013 (Archived)

Following their 2012 year-end meeting, the certificate holders for the Palmer College of Chiropractic Board of Trustees appointed Michael D. Chance, D.C., as a new member of the Board of Trustees (serving a one-year term) and reappointed four current members who had completed their terms to new three-year terms, beginning January 1, 2013.

Michael D. Chance, D.C., of Gainesville, Fla., graduated summa cum laude from Palmer College of Chiropractic’s Davenport Campus in 1978. After teaching in Palmer’s Pathology Department from 1978 to 1979, he entered private practice in 1979. In 1981 he became the owner and managing partner of Chance Chiropractic Center in Gainesville, Fla. He is a Fellow in the Palmer Academy of Chiropractic, has been a member of the Palmer Presidents Club since 2004 and is a founding member of Palmer’s Heritage Endowment Society. 

He has been a member of the American Chiropractic Association, the Florida Chiropractic Association (FCA) and the Mid-Florida Chiropractic Society since 1979, and has held a number of offices in the FCA and Mid-Florida Chiropractic Society. Dr. Chance has been a long-time supporter of Palmer’s Florida Campus, and he currently serves as a co-chair of the Florida Campus Student-Centered Campaign. He is a third-generation Palmer chiropractor, and he and his family contributed funds for the Chance Family Bookstore in the new Standard Process Student Center on the Florida Campus.

Palmer Board of Trustees members who were reappointed to new three-year terms are:


  • Kent Forney, attorney, Des Moines, Iowa (Vice Chairman)
  • Trevor Ireland, D.C., private chiropractic practitioner, Anchorage, Alaska (Chairman)
  • Vickie A. Palmer, Davenport, Iowa (Secretary General)
  • Kent Pilcher, president, Estes Construction, Davenport, Iowa