« Back

Palmer research leaders receive appointments from AMA, ASA

11/26/2013 (Archived)

Christine Goertz, D.C., Ph.D., vice chancellor for research and health policy for Palmer College of Chiropractic, has been appointed to the American Medical Association (AMA)-convened Physician Consortium for Performance Improvement (PCPI) Measure Advisory Committee (MAC). The MAC will advise the PCPI Executive Committee on matters related to performance measures and support activities related to the PCPI measure development methodologies. 

Examples of activities that may be undertaken by this committee include:

  • Advise on strategic priorities related to the PCPI’s performance measurement work
  • Provide expertise in measurement models and methods
  • Assist in engaging the PCPI membership to enhance their role in clinical quality measurement
  • Guidance related to implementation of PCPI measures in health information technology systems, including electronic health record (EHR) systems and registries
  • Communicate the value of the PCPI’s performance measures and methodologies to PCPI members, physicians and health care professionals, and other health care stakeholders
  • Monitor status and review results of measure development specification and testing projects

In addition to her role as vice chancellor for research and health policy at Palmer, Dr. Goertz is a member of the Board of Governors and chair of the program development committee for the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute—becoming the first and only Doctor of Chiropractic to hold leadership roles within this increasingly vital organization for patient- centered research and dissemination. 

In other Palmer research news, Cynthia Long, Ph.D., director of research for the Palmer Center for Chiropractic Research on Palmer’s Davenport Campus, was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Statistical Association as the Council of Sections Governing Board representative for a term beginning January 1, 2014. Earlier this year, Dr. Long was selected as the winner of the American Statistical Association Section on Teaching of Statistics in the Health Sciences’ Distinguished Achievement Award. She received the award for her “years of constant and expert service” to the Section.