Looking for a chiropractic school?

To help you find the right chiropractic school, we’ve put together a list of all the chiropractic schools in the U.S., in chronological order. You might notice that most of the schools currently in operation were founded by Palmer graduates. We are proud to be the founding college of chiropractic, and we hope this brief history will help you along your chiropractic journey.

  • Palmer College of Chiropractic: The first college of chiropractic was founded in 1897 as the Palmer Chiropractic School & Cure by the discoverer of chiropractic, D.D. Palmer. 
  • Western States Chiropractic College: In 1904, John Marsh, D.C., and his wife Eva, with support from D.D. Palmer, established a second chiropractic school in Oregon called Marshes' Chiropractic School and Cure, which was incorporated and expanded in 1909 as the Pacific College of Chiropractic before being renamed Western States Chiropractic College in 1932.
  • National College of Chiropractic: In 1906, Palmer graduate John Fitz Allen Howard, D.C. founded the National School of Chiropractic in the Ryan Building in Davenport, Iowa, where 12 years earlier D.D. Palmer performed the first adjustment. The school relocated to Chicago in 1932 and again relocated to its current location in Lombard, Ill., in 1963.
  • Texas Chiropractic College: The fourth oldest chiropractic school in the U.S., Texas Chiropractic College was founded in 1908 by John N. Stone, M.D., D.C., in San Antonio.
  • Southern California University of Health Sciences: In 1911 Charles Cale, D.C.  applied for and received a charter for Los Angeles College of Chiropractic, which is now part of Southern California University of Health Sciences.
  • New York Chiropractic College: Founded in 1919 by Frank Dean, D.C., New York Chiropractic College was originally known as the Columbia Institute of Chiropractic, and is the oldest chiropractic school in the Northeast.
  • Cleveland Chiropractic College: Cleveland Chiropractic College was founded in 1922 as the Central Chiropractic College by Palmer graduates C.S. Cleveland Sr., D.C., Ruth R. Cleveland, D.C.  and Perl B. Griffin, D.C..
  • Logan University: Logan University was founded in 1935 as Logan College of Chiropractic and was named after its founder and first president, Universal graduate Hugh Logan, D.C..
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University: Northwestern Health Sciences University, previously called Northwestern College of Chiropractic, was founded in June 1941 by Palmer graduate John B. Wolfe, D.C.  and began operations in downtown Minneapolis, Minn.
  • Sherman College of Chiropractic: Sherman College was founded in 1973 by Palmer graduate Thom Gelardi, D.C.. He named it after Dr. Lyle Sherman, a pioneer of modern chiropractic and the former assistant director of the B.J. Palmer Chiropractic Research Clinic in Davenport, Iowa.
  • Life University and Life Chiropractic College West: Life University was founded by Sid Williams, D.C., a graduate of Palmer College, in 1975, as Life Chiropractic College. In 1981 the college acquired a second campus in Hayward, Calif. which they renamed Life Chiropractic College West.
  • Parker University: Parker University was originally founded in 1978 as Parker College of Chiropractic by Palmer graduate James W. Parker, D.C.,  in Irving, Texas.  The college later moved its campus to Dallas, and in 2011 its name was changed to Parker University.
  • University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic: The University of Bridgeport established a college of chiropractic in 1990 and received licensure by the state of Connecticut for the university's doctor of chiropractic degree program that same year.
  • D'Youville College of Chiropractic: In 2003, D'Youville College became the first liberal arts college in New York to offer a chiropractic degree. D'Youville College is an independent Catholic college located in Buffalo, New York.

Why Choose Palmer?

Palmer College of Chiropractic continues to be prominent in the areas of chiropractic care, education and research. The College honors its heritage while focusing on the future, and continually strives to be The Trusted Leader in Chiropractic Education®, as is evidenced by the following:

  • Palmer is the first and largest chiropractic college, with an annual enrollment of nearly 2,100 students. 
  • Palmer is the only chiropractic college to offer students three campuses from which to choose with locations in Davenport, Iowa, Port Orange, Fla., and San Jose, Calif.
  • Palmer is home to the Palmer Center for Chiropractic Research, which is the largest and most-highly funded research effort in chiropractic.
  • Palmer has one of the best student loan repayment rates in the nation, a strong indication of financial health both for the College and its graduates.
  • Palmer has the largest clinic system in chiropractic education.
  • Palmer has the most published faculty in chiropractic education. Students are taught by faculty who are authors of the leading textbooks in chiropractic education, which are used by other chiropractic colleges.

Contact Us

Main campus

Davenport campus
1000 Brady St.
Davenport, IA 52803-5214
(800) 722-2586

Branch campuses

Florida campus
4777 City Center Parkway
Port Orange, FL 32129-4153
(866) 890-5498

West campus
90 East Tasman Dr.
San Jose, CA 95134-1617
(800) 442-4476

Prospective Student image

Thomas Souza, D.C.

Dr. Thomas Souza profile image

Dr. Souza, West Campus faculty member and Dean of Academic Affairs, literally wrote the book on differential diagnosis. His textbook, Differential Diagnosis and Management for the Chiropractor, has been in use in every chiropractic college around the globe for nearly two decades.

Hear Dr. Souza talk about Technique education

military friendly awardPalmer College is a Military Friendly® school that engages, educates, employs and provides care to veterans, active duty military personnel and their families.