Palmer Coronavirus/COVID-19 Updates 
Family Practice

Family Practice

For some families, when it comes to attending Palmer, it's all relative
Winter/Spring 2007


Graduations send newest alumni on their way

West Campus September Graduation

From left, Class 063 salutatorian Deborah Vitale, and co-valedictorians Corinne Willner and Lisa Goodman, are recognized at the West Campus September graduation.
Deborah Vitale, Corinne Willner, and Lisa Goodman in ceremonial garb

Forty-five graduates received their D.C. degrees at Palmer’s West Campus commencement Sept. 7, in the theater of the Santa Clara Convention Center. This ceremony marked the 25th anniversary of Palmer West’s first graduation in September 1981.

Lisa Goodman and Corrine Willner graduated as co-valedictorians, and Deborah Vitale was the salutatorian of the West Campus’ 99th graduating class. Clinical Excellence honors were presented to Kyle Pittet for the Tasman Clinic and to Vidur Jindal for the clinic in Santa Clara. Dominic Pisaro received the Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award, and Cuong Huynh received the Student Fellow Award for “unselfish service and dedication to the betterment of Palmer’s West Campus experience.” Louis Sportelli, D.C., a 1963 Davenport Campus graduate and president of National Chiropractic Mutual Insurance Company, deliv- Florida Campus ered the commencement address.

September Graduation

Graduates of Class 063 take part in their graduation ceremonies on Sept. 22.
Florida graduates seated during ceremony

The Florida Campus also celebrated a graduation in September, with 36 students graduating from that campus in its third commencement ceremony on Sept. 22, at Bethune-Cookman College’s Mary McLeod Bethune Performing Arts Center in Daytona Beach.

Top honors went to Brandon Blood, valedictorian; Shawn Doerrfeld, salutatorian; Joshua Handt, Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award winner; and Thaddeus Gala, Clinical Excellence Award recipient. Florida Campus Professor Anne Canty, Ph.D., L.C.P. (Hon.), delivered the commencement address. This class was designated the Scott T. LaLiberte Memorial Class, in honor of their classmate who was killed in a car accident in September 2004. The class held a special service to dedicate a Florida red maple tree planted on the campus in his memory on Sept. 21.

Davenport Campus October Graduation

Davenport Campus graduates switch their tassels at their October 2006 convocation.
Davenport graduates move their tassels

Commencement ceremonies on Oct. 20, in Lyceum Hall on the Davenport Campus marked the graduation of 163 Doctor of Chiropractic, six Associate of Science in Chiropractic Technology and four Master of Science in Clinical Research degree recipients.

Awards were given to four valedictorians: Melanie Cook, Jordan Linder, Lisa Shefchik and Matthew Taylor. The salutatorians were Michael LaBounty and Coree Snyder. Lee Matthis received the Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award and Amy Rudder won the Clinical Excellence Award. The John Connolly Memorial Award for scholarship and involvement in Palmer and community organizations was presented to Michael LaBounty. Florida Campus Dean of Academic Affairs Donald Gran, D.C., M.S.Ed., was the commencement speaker, and Davenport Campus Vice President for Student Affairs Kevin Cunningham, D.C., Ph.D., was the Honors Convocation speaker. This graduation was a special occasion for the Judge family, with two members graduating, making a total of 32 chiropractors in the family. (See related story on pages 13-14.)

West Campus December Graduation

Thirty graduates received their D.C. degrees at Palmer’s West Campus graduation in the theater of the Santa Clara Convention Center on Dec. 4. The ceremony was the 100th commencement since the West Campus’ inaugural graduation in September 1981.

Adrienne Young and Brent Brown graduated as valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively. Clinical Excellence honors were presented to Jill Thomson for the Tasman Clinic and to Brent Brown for the clinic in Santa Clara. Aaron Wiegand received the Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award, and Julie Kruse received the Student Fellow Award. Mark Charrette, D.C., a 1980 graduate of the Davenport Campus, presented the commencement address.

Florida Campus December Graduation

Palmer’s Florida Campus celebrated its fourth graduation on Dec. 15, at Bethune-Cookman College in Daytona Beach. Seventy-two students received their Doctor of Chiropractic degrees during the graduation convocation, which featured a commencement address by Thomas E. Hyde, D.C., DACBSP.

Co-valedictorians were Nicholas Cammarata and Veronica Elko, and the salutatorian was Kenneth Layne Berry. The Virgil V. Strang Philosophy Award was presented to Justin Thomas Ohm, and the recipient of the Clinical Excellence Award was Todd Gregory Mexico.

Choose your program