Palmer Coronavirus/COVID-19 Updates 
Leading Ladies

Leading Ladies

Palmer continues its tradition of preparing women leaders in chiropractic
Fall 2007


West Campus garners awards and appointments at CCA convention

Recently appointed CCA President and West Campus Clinical Professor William Updyke, D.C., left, with John Bueler, Jr., D.C., past president of the CCA.
Dr. William Updyke with Dr. John Bueler, Jr.

Several Palmer College alumni and faculty were appointed executive officers and received special awards at the California Chiropractic Association (CCA) Summer Convention, held June 15-17 at the Paradise Point Resort and Spa in San Diego.

West Campus Clinical Professor William Updyke, D.C., was appointed as the new CCA president. He had previously served as chair of the CCA Department of Governmental Affairs. In accepting his appointment, Dr. Updyke spoke of the seriousness of two proposed state laws that could make it difficult for patients to gain access to chiropractic services and “could also negatively impact the chiropractic scope of practice.”

“I believe that with the continued support from the practicing doctors of chiropractic in California, the continued dedication of the individuals we have working for CCA in Sacramento, and the continued involvement by our student CCA members, we will be able to appropriately deal with this threat,” Dr. Updyke said.

West Campus alumni appointed to CCA Executive Committee positions include Maia James, D.C., ’01, who will serve as chief financial officer, and Robert Dubro, D.C., ’87, who succeeds Dr. James as secretary.

Robert Chatfield, D.C., ’83, received the Thomas N. Truax Award, for showing exceptional dedication to governmental affairs and political action that supports the chiropractic profession. Dr. Chatfield also was one of three doctors to receive a special CCA Presidential Award for meritorious achievement. The Doctor of the Year Award was bestowed on R. Dean Harmon, D.C., ’83, and Robert Martines, D.C., ’89, received the Dr. Robert B. Botterman Award, for doing the most to uphold the image of chiropractic in the community.

The Santa Clara County District received the Outstanding District Award for the district that has made outstanding accomplishments for the chiropractic profession and/or fulfillment of CCA programs for the year. West Campus alumnus David Hatami, D.C., ’94, is president of the Santa Clara CCA chapter.

Palmer’s awards were capped off by Heather Dehn, D.C, Davenport ’94, who received the Distinguished Service Award for performing outstanding service to the community.

Choose your program