Palmer Coronavirus/COVID-19 Updates 
Translating research into better health

Translating research into better health

Palmer is at the forefront of chiropractic research
Summer 2008


Nineteen West Campus students receive diplomas

West Campus Dean of Academic Affairs Thomas Souza, D.C., presents the Clinical Excellence Award to Ben Armitage at the Winter 2008 graduation ceremony.
Dr. Thomas Souza handing award to Ben Armitage during graduation

Nineteen graduates received their Doctor of Chiropractic degrees at Palmer’s West Campus Winter Quarter 2008 commencement on Feb. 29 in the theater of the Santa Clara Convention Center.

Ben Armitage, La Honda, Calif. (who also received the Clinical Excellence Award), and Laura Jansen, Lexington, Mass.; were valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively. Christopher Matock, Monterey, Calif., was the other magna cum laude. Graduates with cum laude honors were Jamie Engel, Calabasas, Calif. (who also received the Virgil V. Strang Award); Michael McAllister, Atascadero, Calif.; and Thanh- Huyen Thi Nguyen, Stockton, Calif. Mr. Nguyen also received the Student Fellow Award.

Rhonda Basarich, Sacramento, Calif.; Laura Jansen, Lexington, Mass.; and Robert Eliot Schmidt, Chicago, Ill.; received awards for their years of service as Campus Guides. Ms. Jansen, who served as Student Government class representative, also received special recognition for her involvement with the West Campus Sports Council.

James Chestnut, B.Ed., M.Sc., D.C., CCWP, presented the commencement address. West Campus Professor and Faculty Senate President Ronald Henninger, D.C., DABCO, Davenport ’78, presented a memoriam in honor of Dorothy Cohen, D.C., a wellknown, part-time member of the West Campus faculty who recently passed away.

Choose your program